Sign in to follow this  
Sir Humphrey

Safest jobs in a recession.

Hi all

Better say hello first. I am a junior civil servant in the UK. I have a degree in PPE from Oxford, but did not carry on Economics until finals, so am no big expert (although I know a lot more than the layman).

My question is on behalf of friends really. I am now of the opinion that a stagflation recession is likely in the near future. I am very fortunate in being in a secure (although not particularly well paid) civil service job. I will be in a position to benefit from a house market crash if it occurs owing to good fortune.

My concern is for a number of friends and colleagues. Although things could be going well for me, it distresses me what may happen to soem of them. Several of my friends and colleagues have bought houses in the last year or two. Luckly, many of them have either bought at below current market value of have secure jobs (eg Doctor, Civil Servant etc etc).

My question is this: Apart from the obvious (such as lawyers, doctors etc), which areas of the economy can best be expected to ride a stagflation recession? For instance, one friend works for a small TV company, with no job security at all. One might expect such a person to be in trouble. However, TV did well in the 1970s owing to high viewing figures resulting from more households staying at home in the evening. So would it be a case of consolidation in that industry?

Opinions would be very welcome. :D

"now of the opinion that a stagflation recession is likely in the near future.

I am very fortunate in being in a secure (although not particularly well paid) civil service job"