Transition Towns Thread

Transition Towns Thread / (was called "Transition Towns Primer")

An initiative to relocalise our communities

(combined with, Steve Netwriter's):

Transition Towns, An NZ initiative to relocalise our communities

===========================================

transitionteacherdoris1.jpg

Hi, I am a university student studying about Transition Towns. I have been set an assignment to obtain feedback from those people who have read the Transition Towns Primer, would you please comment on whether you think that it is an easy read? Do you need to read it all to understand the message? Does it get boring? Does it help? Could it be improved?

I thank you all in advanced for your help and reply.

(Added later):

What is a Transition Town (or village, city, forest, island)?

A Transition Initiative is a community that seeks to face up to the dual challenges of Peak Oil and Climate Change and to discover ways to address this BIG question:

For all those aspects of life that this community needs in order to sustain itself and thrive (e.g. food, education, business, environment, community, etc.) how do we significantly increase resilience (to reduce the effects of rising oil prices) and drastically reduce carbon emissions (to reduce the effects of climate change)?

+ + + + +

transitiontownstalkrobh.jpg :

:
:
: 12 steps

Rob Hoskins, Founder of the Transition Network

NOTES - from his Nov. 2007 presentation at Oxford:

The Principles of a Transition Town / City

==============================

1) Building Local Resilience (referenced the film "The End of Suburbia" as a call to arms)

2) Visioning: creating an enticing vision to enthuse people about a post oil future. In Totnes they interviewed local children about their visions

(see "Transition Tales" on You Tube / LINK:

)

3) Inclusion: drawing parallels with a "wartime effort" philosophy; that we need the collective strength and skills of all sectors of a community