Uranium Price

Macaque

longest "straight up move" in any commodity in a long, long time.

the lack of any correction is impressive, but remember, this isn't a market with much liquity.

It lacks the diversity of buyers and sellers, atht tends to create tw-way price movement.

I reckon it is a short-squeeze which went into its blow-up phase, when Cameco's shutdown due to a flood,

caught people with contract obligations they were unable to meet, and they have had to enter the physical

market, and pay whatever price was offered.

Blow-off moves like that, tend to be followed by very sharp corrections

I'm a nuclear engineer and can confirm that the nuclear revival is for real !!

There are currently not enough staff around to cope with the amount of new plants being ordered or planned. Before you build plants you have to secure the fuel supply. So, with concerns over global warming and lack of oil the demand has shot up but it takes many years for the U supply to increase. All this is discussed in interview on minesite, the links can be found on this site.

Knowing this enabled me to get into the uranium mining stocks relatively early. I stopped buying this year and U stocks currently make up a large percent of my portfolio so im watching nervously.

Be aware that the spot price is relatively easy to manipulate. Most U is not sold on the open market and hedge funds and other speculators are moving into the area.

Other things that could reduce the U price:

+ Release of highly enriched U from government sources (ie bomb material from decommissioned war heads)

+ New mines being approved in the Australia which has very large reserves.

If your looking at uranium stocks then be careful:

Many small companies are trying to get into this area, some even renaming themselves to highlight uranium.

Most of the explorers may not be around in a few years if the price falls.

Some of the low deposits require a sustained high U price to be profitable.