Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: The Russians are coming...
Green Energy Investors > About GEI > About GlobalEdgeInvestors & GreenEnergyInvestors
webmaster
I think there are some Russian bots signing up to GEI.

why?
+ They come in as a crowd.
+ usually during the Russian timezone,
+ And they have similar addresses.

I am checking the following:

elidanat , 24-oct (vg) : IP: 69.61.79.195
gacohi , 24-oct (vg) : IP: 69.61.79.195
sangispi , 24-oct (vg) : IP: 69.61.79.195
thurazgongiar , 24-oct (vg) : IP: 69.61.79.195
chieonir , 24-oct (vg) : IP: 69.61.79.195
#nick , 16-oct (vg) : IP: 69.61.79.195
1hyipstats4 , 12-sep (vg) :
cbs7 , 17-apr (m)
thebestoff , 21-oct (vg) :
thzfartn , 12.nov

CURRENT ICE LIST:
benedict_man1928 , 14-oct (m) : IP: 69.61.21.138
cornelia_bordman1970 , 15-oct : IP: 69.61.21.138
Note: it seems they wait about 4 weeks, and the start posting garbage ads
No6
Just me and the Russians here at the moment. zd`rravstvuite.
Cuthbert Calculus
Can they get information with which to steal identities?
No6
QUOTE(Frizzers @ Nov 14 2006, 09:54 PM) *
Can they get information with which to steal identities?


Good point, but they have been here so long that they don't seem to be hiding. Perhaps they can get email addresses and contribute to your spam, but whether they can get anymore, well hopefully not. Bots do trawl for information but the favoured weopons of the hacker still appear to be trojans, keyloggers, etc, which they need to get on your pc. Stay protected.
DrBubb
"Perhaps they can get email addresses and contribute to your spam"

I reckon that is what it is.
Or maybe they sell "sleeper member" to other spam artists.

Let's just ice them all one fine day, unless one pops up with some reasonable posts soon
Cuthbert Calculus
I've been getting lots of 'stock tips' lately. I guess that's te source. I've removed my email addy from my personal info.
DrBubb
yes.

stock tips could be it, with these guys scouring for more email addresses.

possible they have a cowboy IR machine run from Russia or someplace, sending out thousands
of emails on there companies. I will make a list of some of the TIPS i have had

actually, i would prefer it if these guys were benign.
I would actually prefer not to have to delete someone with a strange name like: "thurazgongiar"
ETF
I have observed an increase of spam.

Also, I am more concerned that I have been contacted (by phone) several times of late by (perhaps boiler room) firms offering me access to IPO's and the like. One particular worried me: An ethanol stock which (I pulled up the chart while on the phone) was in the process of making a moon shot. When I pointed this out and that I was interested in TA the caller hung up.
DrBubb
fools are inspired by bull markets,
and these boiler rooms may be getting more fish to bite in a market like this.

They will disappear in Bear markets, or find something else to ramp...

BE CAREFUL!
No6
What are the bots up to (As far as is known)?

http://spamhuntress.com/2006/05/21/forum-b...are-they-up-to/

Ban List of Common Invision Forum Bot Domains

http://forums.invisionpower.com/index.php?...p;hl=forum+bots
DrBubb
The behaviors we’ve seen from forum registering bots so far are:

*Spam posts
*Delayed spam posts
*Spam link in profile
*Delayed spam link in profile

To find out if there are mail harvesting bots, we’d need for someone to register on a forum with a spamtrap address. A forum that already has a bot problem. A forum where the e-mail addresses are visible to logged in users. Then only leave it there, and see what happens.

= =

BE Careful with those "visible email addresses"

...except for these for ... quess whom ?

thechartist@aol.com / and TheSleepWalker@UpAllNight.con
webmaster
Trouble brewing here:

Guest ( 80.194.229.71 ) Registering... Today, 09:06 AM
Guest ( 80.194.229.71 ) Registering... Today, 09:05 AM
Guest ( 80.194.229.71 ) Registering... Today, 09:05 AM
Guest ( 80.194.229.71 ) Registering... Today, 09:05 AM
Guest ( 80.194.229.71 ) Registering... Today, 09:05 AM
Guest ( 80.194.229.71 ) Registering... Today, 09:05 AM
Guest ( 80.194.229.71 ) Registering... Today, 09:05 AM
Guest ( 80.194.229.71 ) Registering... Today, 09:05 AM

Eight at once.
What are they up to??
Baby Kitten
Hi, I'm new here (just come from GHPC), but I noticed as soon as I'd registered that there was a "google.com" user logged in. Is this a Google bot?

I've often wondered how Google manages to spider seemingly private forums (others, not this one) that require registration to read.
DrBubb
The google bots are here often,
collecting an updated version of the website.

I'm not sure how they deal with the closed and private sites, or if they even do
consa
QUOTE(Baby Kitten @ Dec 5 2006, 05:00 PM) *
Hi, I'm new here (just come from GHPC), but I noticed as soon as I'd registered that there was a "google.com" user logged in. Is this a Google bot?

I've often wondered how Google manages to spider seemingly private forums (others, not this one) that require registration to read.

Hi BK, google does tend to frequent these forums GHPC as well, I just have google as an invisible member so as people aren't distracted by it, just think of all the questions I would get, ie:is that google ads? what is that google thing? and so on, I think I will keep it as anonymouse.
PS:there is also the option to treat search engine spiders as members so they don't need to register at all
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2010 Invision Power Services, Inc.