Wanderer's Trading Diary

All,

inspired by Roman's Holiday I'm adding a trading diary here in the Markets and Trading section. I don't think it merits the 'main forum'!

What I found about RH's diary is that it gives us a little more about him and the logic underpinning his trades. It helps me decide whether I agree with his trades, in part because his circumstance may or may not overlap with mine.

I'm an accidental trader. I've been overseas since 1999. I STR'd too early back in 2002. The big advantage for me though was that it gave me a sum of money to invest. I started off very cautiously, but have gradually increased my trading and the sums involved so that I am using almost all my STR fund. Partly as a result of trading, partly through saving hard whilst I am overseas, my fund is now almost 3 times what it was in 2002. Where this is odd is that it leaves me with a sum that is about 13 times my income from my day job. Since 2002, but particularly since 2005 when I started investing more aggressively, I've earned more from the investing than from the day job. And thus I have become the 'accidental trader'.

At some point soon we'll be returning to the UK. We'll probably rent for a while. When we stop renting we'll buy a nice house. At the moment we are lucky enough to be able to buy a nice house cash or a lovely one with a mortgage. Obviously if we could build up the fund more then we'd buy a lovely one cash or a nice one and have money left over to invest.